A host of contributors to Community Cricket in the state have been nominated by Cricket NSW for the NSW Community Sports Awards, presented by Sport NSW.

The nominations across 10 categories recognise outstanding achievements and contributions to community sport in NSW – largely carried out by a volunteer workforce.

More than 500,000 people across NSW voluntarily dedicate their time every year through their involvement in sporting clubs and organisations – many within cricket.

The program consists of various annual awards plus the Distinguished Long Service Awards for those that have given exceptional long service to their sport.

Cricket NSW Participation Manager, Julie Stafford, said all of the nominees would be worthy winners, having all played a part in inspiring their local communities to play and love cricket.

“We are so fortunate within cricket to have so many wonderful volunteers and some of them are being showcased in the NSW Community Sports Awards,” Stafford said.

“The awards are one way we are able to recognise our volunteers and thank them for their incredible dedication to our sport.”

Finalists for the awards will be announced this month, with the ceremony to be held on June 17 at NSW Parliament House.

NSW Sport Awards



Young Official of the Year

Lauren McGill (Tamworth, NNSW)

Community Coach of the Year

Dom Wheeler (Manly, NS)

Young Coach of the Year

Jordan Jones (Blowfly Cricket Club, NS)

Community Sport Administrator of the Year

Aaron Gray (Newcastle, GH)

Volunteer Director of the Year

Leya Wilson (Charlestown, GH)

Community Team of the Year

Newcastle Cricket Zone Open Mens’ (GH)

Community Club of the Year

West Pennant Hills Cherrybrook CC (NS)

Local Council of the Year

Eurobodalla Shire Council (SNSWACT)

Community Event of the Year

Goulburn District JCA (SWNSWACT)

Distinguished Long Service Award

Grahame Jenkinson (Toronto, GH)