The hard work and commitment of individuals, associations, schools, and councils has been acknowledged via the Cricket NSW nominations for Cricket Australia’s Community Cricket Awards.

Several impressive volunteers were nominated across four categories, each demonstrating excellence in the pursuit of helping to grow participation, strengthening their club, and building community through diversity and education.

The CNSW entries will be considered for the Cricket Australia Community Awards alongside the nominations from other states.

Cricket NSW General Manager of Community Cricket, Joanne Scanlon, said each nominee highlighted the importance – and value – of volunteers who work to enrich their community through cricket.

“Everyone who has been nominated for these awards have demonstrated a great community spirit and love for the sport,” she said.

“The submissions we received from around the state are outstanding and reflect the very best of volunteerism and the impact it has on the community.”

CA Community Cricket Awards of the Year Nominees, Season 2021/22



Volunteer of the Year

Erin Shaw (North Richmond Cricket Club, Hawkesbury District Cricket Association)

Young Leader of the Year

Em Atlee (Dubbo District Junior Cricket Association)

Community Cricket Coach of the Year

Gregory Fox (Valentine-Eleebana Cricket Club, Newcastle Junior Cricket Association)

Community Match Official of the Year

Victor Gauci (Bankstown District Cricket Association & Bankstown District Umpires Association)

Community Club of the Year

Bega-Angledale Cricket Club

Community Cricket Association of the Year

Inner West Harbour Junior Cricket Association

Women’s & Girls Initiative

West Pennant Hills Cherrybrook Cricket Club

Inclusion & Diversity Initiative of the Year

Mechelle Hare (Manly-Warringah Grade Cricket Club)

Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year

Gymea Bay Cricket Club

Technology and Media Initiative of the Year

Aaron Hagenbach (Mid North Coast Cricket Council)

Celebrating Cricket in Schools

Kororo Public School

Community Partnership of the Year

Kempsey Shire Council

Indoor Facility of the Year

National Indoor Sports (St Marys)