The Bradman and Kookaburra Cups are being held concurrently for the first time, in the same town, as both competitions get under way in Albury Wodonga on Monday.

The Under 16 Bradman and Under 14 Kookaburra Cups are two of the major under age carnivals in NSW Country cricket.

Central Coast are the current holders of the Bradman Cup, while Western zone are the defending champions of the Kookaburra Cup.

The Bradman Cup commenced in 1992/93 and, the Kookaburra Cup is into its 14th season, since the first competition was held in 2005/06.

Central Coast have been the most successful team in each age division. It has claimed the Bradman Cup title seven times and the Kookaburra Cup five times.

All eight Country zones are represented in each competition including ACT Southern Districts, Central Coast, Greater Illawarra, North Coastal, Central Northern, Newcastle, Riverina and Western.

The winner of the Bradman Cup will play the champion side in the NSW Premier Cricket Under 16 AW Green Shield later in the season.

Likewise, the winner of the Kookaburra Cup will meet the champions of the NSW Districts Cricket Association Under 14 Harold Moore Shield.

The carnival takes place over four days starting on Monday and finishes on Thursday 10 January.

Cricket NSW thanks Albury City Council, Wodonga City Council and Cricket Albury Wodonga.