Seven NSW stars are amongst 17 players named by the National Selection Panel (NSP) for the Vodafone Test Series against India, starting at the Adelaide Oval on December 17.

Bowlers Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood and Sean Abbott will be joined in the squad by Test regulars Steve Smith and David Warner.

Cummins, Hazlewood, Smith and Warner are returning from stints in the IPL, while Starc, Lyon and Abbott have been plying their trade for NSW in the Marsh Sheffield Shield in Adelaide.

Abbott has been selected in the Test squad for the first time off the back of 12 months of hard work and improvement that has seen him star for the Sixers and elevate his Sheffield Shield form with a bag of wickets and a maiden first-class century in the first three games of this season.

Selectors chose the expanded squad in considering the bio secure hubs that the team will be based in and the need to plan for replacing players at short notice if required.

National selector Trevor Hohns said the early rounds of the Sheffield Shield highlighted the depth of young talent coming through the ranks.

“What we saw in the opening rounds of the Marsh Sheffield Shield were a number of players performing exceptionally well,” he said.

“It is such a positive sign for Australian cricket to have so many good young players stepping into contention for the Test and Australia A selection.

“Sean Abbott has been outstanding at the start of the summer and comes in to his first Test squad as a very strong fast bowling option. Add that to his recent batting form over the last 12 months he presents a very complete package in the squad.”


Australian Test Squad

Sean Abbott (NSW)

Joe Burns (QLD)

Pat Cummins (NSW) (vc)

Cameron Green (WA)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW)

Travis Head (SA)

Marnus Labuschagne (QLD)

Nathan Lyon (NSW)

Michael Neser (QLD)

Tim Paine (TAS) (c)

James Pattinson (VIC)

Will Pucovski (VIC)

Steve Smith (NSW)

Mitchell Starc (NSW)

Mitchell Swepson (QLD)

Matthew Wade (TAS)

David Warner (NSW)


Vodafone Test Series against India:

December 17-21 – First Vodafone Test, Adelaide Oval (d/n)

December 26-30 – Second Vodafone Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground

January 7-11 – Third Vodafone Test, Sydney Cricket Ground

January 15-19 – Fourth Vodafone Test, Brisbane Cricket Ground


Nationals selectors have also chosen a 19-player Australia A squad to play India in tour matches at Drummoyne Oval and the Sydney Cricket Ground which includes nine players from the Test squad and Australian captain Tim Paine. Final sides and a captain will be chosen closer to each match.

That squad features three current NSW players – Abbott, rising seamer Harry Conway and evergreen veteran Moises Henriques.

“We wanted to use these two games as preparation for the Test series for those players and as a reward to others for their performances in the first block of Shield matches, all of whom we believe could represent Australia in the future,” Hohns said.


Australia A Squad

Sean Abbott (NSW)

Ashton Agar (WA)

Joe Burns (QLD)

Jackson Bird (TAS)

Alex Carey (SA)

Harry Conway (NSW)

Cameron Green (WA)

Marcus Harris (VIC)

Travis Head (SA)

Moises Henriques (NSW)

Nic Maddinson (VIC)

Mitchell Marsh (WA - subject to fitness)

Michael Neser (QLD)

Tim Paine (TAS)

James Pattinson (VIC)

Will Pucovski (VIC)

Mark Steketee (QLD)

Will Sutherland (VIC)

Mitchell Swepson (QLD)


Australia A versus India:

December 6-8 – Drummoyne Oval

December 11-13 – Sydney Cricket Ground (d/n)