Kurtis Patterson leads a 13-player NSW Blues squad that has been announced for the state’s first Marsh Sheffield Shield match of the season.
The Phil Jaques-coached squad, which includes incumbent Test spinner Nathan Lyon and fellow nationally capped players Sean Abbott, Trent Copeland and Peter Nevill, will take on Victoria at Drummoyne Oval in the four-day game to commence on Wednesday October 27.

The Blues squad selection comes off the back of a high-level three-day intra-squad trial at Hurstville Oval that saw opener Daniel Hughes star with a double century.
Cricket NSW Head of Male Cricket Michael Klinger said the group were now determined to get onto the field for a meaningful match.
“After a long pre-season and a couple of false start it’s great for our player to have an opportunity to begin the Sheffield Shield season next week,” Klinger said.
“I would like to thank our players and staff for being so understanding and flexible in a really challenging period.
“We have been able to play some quality practice matches over the last two weeks and there have been some outstanding performances.
“This made selection a tough task but we are happy with our final squad of 13 for our first game next week at Drummoyne.
“The squad gives us good balance and provides both Kurtis (Patterson) and Phil (Jaques) some good attacking options for the selection of the final XI.
“Tanveer Sangha’s selection means he could make his Sheffield Shield debut and we are very excited to see his talent on the bigger stage in 4-day cricket if he receives an opportunity.”
Ticketing Details

Daily tickets for this fixture are free and will need to be secured online and in-advance of arriving at the ground.
Further details on how to secure a ticket/s will be announced via Cricket NSW digital and social channels on Monday, October 25.

Please note that in line with the event’s COVID-Safe Plan, the venue capacity is limited to 1,500 spectators per day, where spectators 16+ must be fully vaccinated or have a medical contraindication certificate.
NSW Blues Squad
Kurtis PATTERSON (Captain)
Lachlan HEARNE
Nathan LYON
Tanveer SANGHA
**Please note, the squad will be cut to 12 before the game.