The New South Wales Blind and Low Vision team celebrated another successful season last Saturday at the Blind Cricket NSW Annual Awards Presentation held at their new home, Bankstown Memorial Park. 

The squad claimed its second successive title in the Blind and Low Vision division of the National Cricket Inclusion Championships (NCIC) held during late January in Geelong. It defeated South Australia by 26 runs in the Final.

Last Saturday was the first opportunity for the Blind and Low Vision squad to lift the NCIC trophy in NSW and the back-to-back winners were very keen to show off the coveted silverware. The squad was led by Lindsay Heaven who top-scored in the T20 final with 78 from 49 balls.

The awards were presented by Sydney Thunder star allrounder, Chris Green, and Cricket NSW Diversity and Inclusion officer, Luke Murphy. 

Another example of the great inclusive attitude that Bankstown Cricket Club continue to drive and support, the club has become the home for all three of the NSW All Ability teams including the Blind and Low Vision, Deaf and Hard of Hearing and Intellectual Disability squads.

As part of the weekend long festivities, Cricket Victoria’s Blind and Low Vision squad made the trip up to NSW to play for the inaugural Heritage Cup to celebrate the 100-year anniversary of the two states playing one another.  

The results of the matches over the weekend led to Victoria raising the Heritage Cup as the first-time winners on Sunday afternoon. All games played over the weekend were played in good friendly spirits with NCIC players missing from both squads.

Blind Cricket NSW and Blind Cricket Victoria also welcomed Steffan Nero from Western Australia to play in the Victorian team, one of the best blind batsmen in the country. 

NSW Blind Cricket Presentation Winners:

Domestic Players of the Year
B1 Category
: Peter Kokkinakis
B2 Category: Tom Zell
B3 Category: Mick Leigh

Representative Players of the Year
B1 Category: Ben Felten
B2 Category: Sean Brown
B3 Category: Oscar Stubbs/Shaun Fitzpatrick (joint winners)

Brian Turn Award for Most Outstanding Player
Oscar Stubbs/Shaun Fitzpatrick (joint winners)

Kimberley Wheeler Award
Tom Zell

Darren Northey Award
Dominic Picton