Some of the best female players in country NSW will take part in next Tuesday’s inaugural Women’s Regional Bash Finals at the hallowed Sydney Cricket Ground.

The ACT Aces will play the Illawarra Flames in the Thunder Conference Final, with the successful team meeting the winner of the Sixers Conference Final between the Newcastle Blasters and the Coffs Coast Chargers under the SCG lights to play off for the Women’s Regional Bash Trophy.

All four teams are captained by quality players who have regularly received higher honours.

The Aces are led by 20-year-old Kelly Rowlings, who has played for the NSW Country team the Bush Breakers as a batter.

Like many of the players, having the chance to compete at the SCG is a dream come true for Rowlings.

“I'd probably be thinking about all the people who have batted and bowled on that field in the past and who are currently playing there," Rowlings said.

"All the things that have happened on that ground, there are so many big games and big names you can think of, I'd imagine it would get the blood pumping.”

Flames coach Craig Howsan said the lure of playing at the SCG was great motivation.

"Everyone is stoked to be able to play on the SCG," Howsan said. "It's going to be an unbelievable opportunity for all involved.”

Flames captain Emma Coughlan-Ryan is a former NSW underaged pathways player and big-hitting teammate Joanne Kelly has represented the NSW Bush Breakers for the last two years, while Naomi Woods is a clever bowler.

Coffs Coast Chargers captain, allrounder Kate Jackson, is also captain of the NSW Bush Breakers and teammate Naomi McDonald is one of the best regional players in the country. The batter has been selected in the Australian Country Merit team for the last three years.

Blasters captain Kirsten Smith opens the batting for the Bush Breakers while Clare Webber is a classy bat.


Finals Schedule


10am Sixers Conference Final

Newcastle Blasters v Coffs Coast Chargers


2pm Thunder Conference Final

ACT Aces v Illawarra Flames


6pm Women’s Regional Bash Final

Winner Sixers and Thunder Conference Finals


Women’s Regional Bash Squads


ACT Aces

Kelly Rowlings (c)

Julia Bassett

Georgia Bye

Elizabeth Coper-Jones

Monica Gair

Caitlin Galeano

Jess Galeano

Amy Jason-Jones

Janet King

Victoria King

Jamie Kneebone

Jessie Mudaliar

Cherie Taylor


Illawarra Flames

Emma Coughlan-Ryan (c)

Kaelah Austin

Chantelle Downey

Madison Greenhalgh

Samantha Henness

Sophie Heath

Joanne Kelly

Kate Lee

Issabella Savelli

Louise Tonge

Lauren Woods

Naomi Woods

Ashleigh Yeaman


Coffs Coast Chargers

Kate Jackson (c)

Jo Borger

Ellynie Cameron

Keisha Dowsett

Hannah Faux

Georgie Martin

Sophie Mavros

Naomi McDonald

Rilee O'Loughlan

Alisha Phoonie

Emma Ross

Kate Rowlands

Grace Wilson


Newcastle Blasters

Kirsten Smith

Sarah Burns

Alethea Graham

Kate Hanley

Emma Jane Howe

Skye Lovett

Megan McDonald

Maddie McGuigan

Cassie McLaren

Milah Riley

Clare Webber

Millie Kohl