New South Wales Breakers captain Alyssa Healy is enormously proud to be named the 2018 International Cricket Council Women’s T20 International Player of the Year.

“When I first started playing for Australia I never thought that I would achieve anything like this,” said Healy on Monday after receiving the news of her award.

“It’s a huge honour and one that I will not take lightly.”

The wicketkeeper-batter finished the calendar year with 578 T20 International runs at an average of 41.28 including six half-centuries. She also claimed 23 dismissals behind the wicket including 10 catches and a remarkable 13 stumpings.

Subsequently, the Sydney Sixers wicketkeeper-batter was also announced in the ICC Women’s T20 International Team of the Year.

She was one of three Breakers to be named in the T20 Team of the Year. World class allrounders Ellyse Perry and Ashleigh Gardner joined Healy in the eleven.

Healy was also named as wicketkeeper-batter in the Women’s One-Day International Team of the Year. She was the only Australian to be named in both sides.

The 28-year-old was pivotal to the championship success of Australia at the Women’s World T20 in the West Indies during November.

She was named Player of the Tournament and finished as the leading run-scorer. Healy made 225 runs at the outstanding average of 56.25.

The keeper also claimed eight dismissals with the gloves during her six matches at the Women’s World T20. Healy claimed four catches and the same number of stumpings.

“Winning the ICC Women’s World T20 final against England is something pretty special, especially after a disappointing couple of years in World Cups,” Healy said.

“That win against them, a dominant performance, was pretty special and one I will never forget.”

Healy also made 329 runs at 54.83 at the One-Day International level throughout 2018, including her highest score in that arena.

She made 133 from 115 balls against India at Vadodara in March. Her innings included 17 fours and two sixes. It was also her first hundred in One-Day International cricket.

Perry and Gardner were both ranked equal sixth on the list of leading wicket takers in T20 International cricket during 2018.

Gardner claimed 20 wickets at 15.15 with her off-spin, while the excellent fast-medium pace of Perry delivered her 20 scalps at 17.4.

The off-spinner finished the Women’s World T20 as the equal leading wicket taker with fellow Australian player Megan Schutt and West Indian allrounder Deandra Dottin.

Gardner collected 10 dismissals at 10.7, including 3/22 in the final against England, where she was named Player of the Match.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Smriti Mandhana (India)

2. Tammy Beaumont (England)

3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (c)

4. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)

5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)

6. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wk)

7. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)

8. Deandra Dottin (West indies)

9. Sana Mir (Pakistan)

10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)

11. Poonam Yadav (India)

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Smriti Mandhana (India)

2. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wk)

3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (c)

5. Natalie Sciver (England)

6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)

7. Ashleigh Gardner (Australia)

8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)

9. Megan Schutt (Australia)

10. Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)

11. Poonam Yadav (India)