ACT/NSW Country has been declared joint champions at the Male Under 17 National Championships after the final against Queensland was abandoned on Thursday.

After ACT/NSW Country posted 186 from its 50 overs led by Charles Mitchell (50) and Jayden Zahra-Smith (43), rain intervened in the third over of the Queensland reply and play was unable to be resumed.

Queensland was 0/10 after three overs of the run chase.

The final was the fourth consecutive time a Cricket NSW team had reached the deciding match at the Under 17 National Championships.

ACT/NSW Country defeated Victoria Metro in the semi-finals by 75 runs to secure a share of the title.

NSW Metro missed the semi-finals by one point. It finished third in Pool A after the team won three and lost three of its qualifying matches.

ACT/NSW Country qualified for the finals after it finished top of Pool B, 11 points clear of Western Australia, with five wins and one loss. 

Captain of ACT/NSW Country, Toby Gray, led the team admirably throughout the championships, especially with ball in hand. He finished the equal fourth leading wicket-taker with 12 wickets at the outstanding average of 15.08.

Gray claimed his best figures for the tournament against South Australia in round two. He collected 3-18.

Allrounder Brock Larance was pivotal to the success of ACT/NSW Country during the tournament. He finished among the top 10 leading run-scorers with 286 runs at 47.67.

His highest score came against Victoria Metro in round five with a dashing 85 from 75 balls. Larance also picked up nine scalps at 13.1.

Opener Jayden Zahra-Smith was another notable performer for ACT/NSW Country. He made 235 runs at 33.57 including two fifties.

Batsman Lachlan Shaw and fast bowler Brad Simpson were stand out performers for NSW Metro.

Shaw was the leading run-scorer for NSW Metro. He scored 211 runs at 52.75.

Simpson was the spearhead for the NSW Metro attack. He was the leading wicket-taker for the team with 10 wickets at a tad over 16.