Cricket NSW congratulates Manly Warringah Junior Cricket Association and Ginninderra Cricket Club who both received national recognition at Cricket Australia’s A Sport for All Awards at Melbourne’s CitiPower Centre on Thursday night.

National awards in twelve categories recognised members of the cricket community from around the nation who have demonstrated excellence in strengthening clubs, growing participation and building community through diversity and education.

Manly Warringah Junior Cricket Association, winner of the Cricket Association of the Year, has experienced significant player growth in the past seven years, increasing by around 50% to over 1,800 players.

The club has an excellent male pathway program, but is also at the forefront of creating opportunities for females to play cricket with many of these programs replicated across Sydney.

With only one female team registered in the 2014/15 season, the club has now grown to an incredible 16 teams with over 200 females participating in cricket.


Ginninderra Cricket Club in the ACT, winner of the Premier Cricket Club of the Year, have been tremendously successful on the field, but off it are truly a club for all.

The recent Belco Bash Multicultural Cricket Festival highlighted this with 48 players representing their countries of origin from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The premise behind the competition was that cricket transcends borders and bonds people together.

In 2020 the club will launch ‘Cricket for Mental Health’ gala day raising awareness for an important health issue for all people.

Kieran McMillan, Acting Executive General Manager of Community Cricket at Cricket Australia said:

“Congratulations to all the finalists and winners of this year’s national A Sport for All awards.

“These awards are all about celebrating the best of community cricket throughout Australia and acknowledging the dedication of volunteers to the game.

“Last night and all throughout National Volunteer Week we have shone a light on the people who dedicate hours of their own time to create happier, healthier and more connected local communities.

“I am always amazed by the stories of initiatives that start in lounge rooms and sometimes end up as solutions to problems on a national level. Cricket’s volunteers are a constant source of inspiration and a key reason why our game holds a special place in Australian society.”

All nominations for awards in 2018/19 were shortlisted by State and Territory Associations and provided to a Cricket Australia judging panel for assessment based on the following criteria:

* Demonstrated excellence in the nominated award category;

* Created sustainable participation in cricket and ensured a high-quality experience for everyone; and

* Shown a firm commitment to inclusion by ensuring that cricket is a sport for all Australians.

Winners in all twelve categories were:

Community Ambassador of the Year: Darren Werder (Mackay, QLD)

Community Facility Project of the Year: Irrewarra Cricket Club (Colac, VIC)

Community Official of the Year: Paul Todd (Adelaide, SA)

Partner Organisation of the Year: Inclusion Solutions (Perth, WA)

Community Cricket Coach of the Year: Jeremey Byrne (Ballarat, VIC)

Premier Cricket Club of the Year: Ginninderra Cricket Club (Canberra, ACT)

Junior Cricket Program of the Year: Quinns Rock Junior Cricket Club (Perth, WA)

Junior Cricket Champion of the Year: Toby Morell (Perth, WA)

Community Cricket Initiative of the Year: Team Connect (Perth, WA)

Cricket Association of the Year: Manly Warringah Junior Cricket Association (Manly, NSW)

Community Cricket Club of the Year: Quinns Rock Junior Cricket Club (Perth, WA)

Volunteer of the Year: Charles Rose (UTAS Cricket Club, Hobart, TAS)