Allrounders Moises Henriques and Ashleigh Gardner, the NSW Breakers team and umpire Paul Wilson are among the 2020 State Cricket Award winners named on Friday.

Henriques shared the Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year Award with former NSW Blues teammate, now Victorian, Nic Maddinson. It is only the fifth time in 45 years this award has been shared.

Gardner was named the Lord‘s Taverners Indigenous Player of the Year for the second time and her NSW Breakers team shared the Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award with the ACT and Tasmania.

The Breakers won the Spirit of Cricket Award for a record ninth time and it is the first occasion that three teams have shared the award in Women’s Domestic Cricket since 2005/06.

Wilson, a former Australia Test fast bowler, was announced as the Cricket Australia Umpire Award for a third successive season.

The 48-year-old was one of three candidates for the award which also included fellow NSW umpire Claire Polosak. The other nominee was Tasmanian official Sam Nogajski.


Five new awards were announced on Friday, in addition to the four already presented earlier in the season.

Henriques, 33, was a key figure in NSW claiming the Sheffield Shield title for a record 47th time recently when awarded the title after nine rounds due to concerns surrounding the Coronavirus health crisis.

The prodigious right-hander again enjoyed another season of more than 500 runs in the Shield for NSW, including two centuries, finishing with 512 at an average of 51.2.

In three out of the last four seasons, Henriques has exceeded 500 Shield runs at the crease for the Blues. The best of those seasons was 2016/17 when he amassed 736 at 66.91 including a highest First Class score of 265.

Henriques also led the Sydney Sixers to their second BBL title in February.

Moises Henriques Century Highlights against Tasmania at Drummoyne Oval


Gardner, 22, last received the Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Player of the Year Award in 2015.

The immensely talented off-spinning allrounder posted her first Women’s National Cricket League century, highest score in T20 Internationals and was part of the Australian team which won the Women’s T20 World Cup Final before more than 86,000 people at the MCG on 8 March.

Gardner made 136 from 108 deliveries against Queensland during round six of the WNCL in January at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

Then two weeks later, this time in Melbourne at Junction Oval, Gardner smashed 93 from 57 balls against India during game five of the T20 Tri-Series also involving England, her highest score at the T20 International level.

The series was part of preparations for the Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Cricket Australia Umpire Award capped off another significant 12 months for Paul Wilson.

Wilson made his Test umpiring debut during the one-off match between host nation Bangladesh and Afghanistan in Chittagong during early September.

He became Australia’s 90th Test umpire and the 484th person to umpire a Test match internationally.

Wilson was also part of a 16-member ICC Umpiring Panel to officiate at the Men’s One-Day World Cup last year in the United Kingdom and stood in two major domestic finals including last season’s Shield Final.


2020 State Cricket Awards

Marsh Sheffield Shield Players of the Year - Moises Henriques (New South Wales) & Nic Maddinson (Victoria)

Lords Taverners Indigenous Player of the Year – Ashleigh Gardner (Australia, New South Wales, Sydney Sixers)     

Spirit of Cricket Award (men’s) – Tasmania

Spirit of Cricket Award (women’s) – ACT, New South Wales & Tasmania

Cricket Australia Umpire Award – Paul Wilson

Announced earlier in the season:

Marsh One Day Cup Players of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland) & Usman Khawaja (Queensland)

Women’s National Cricket League Player of the Year – Nicole Bolton (Western Australia)

KFC Big Bash League Player of the Year – Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars)

rebel Women’s Big Bash League Player of the Year – Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers)