Three NSW nominees have claimed awards at Cricket Australia's National Community 'A Sport for All Awards' which were held online on Thursday night.

Young District Cricket Association claimed the Community Cricket Association of the Year, Danielle Chivers won the Young Leader of the Year Award, and Bruce Wood won the Community Match Official of the Year Award.

Baulkham Hills North Public School were finalists in the Cricket in Schools Award, along with Macleay Indoor Sports and Development Centre who were finalists in the Indoor Facility of the Year award.

This year, the Awards were announced online on the MyCricket Facebook and Instagram accounts.

National awards in twelve categories recognised members of the cricket community from around the nation who have demonstrated excellence in strengthening clubs, growing participation and building community through diversity and education.

Community Match Official of the Year – Bruce Wood

Bruce Wood is a highly respected umpire who has umpired in the Hornsby and Ku-ring-gai area for the past 19 years.

Currently, Mr Wood is a member of the Hornsby Ku-ring-gai & Hills District Cricket Umpires’ Association Executive Committee. He has umpired more than 500 official cricket matches and, for the past 4 years, has been the coordinator of the Combined Associated Schools schoolboy umpiring.


Young Community Leader of the Year – Danielle Chivers

At 15, Danielle Chivers is very much seen as a role model for young cricketers.

Danielle, who plays Second Grade for Northern District in McDonald's NSW Women’s Premier Cricket, is a passionate volunteer. She has coached at a number of community initiatives including several school holiday programs in the West Pennant Hills-Cherrybrook area, the Blowfly Cricket All Abilities Program and also umpires social cricket.


Association of the Year – Young District Cricket Association

With a completely new committee in 2019/20, Young District Cricket Association in South Western NSW was able to increase Junior Cricket Blast participants by 50%.

Young Cricket also held a Pink Stumps Day for mental health awareness and maintained a 100% presence in schools across the region greatly assisted by its partnership with the local Woolworths to support School Gala Days and Cricket Blast programs.

Cricket NSW wishes to congratulate all the Award Winners!

Cricket Australia Community Cricket Awards Winners:

Community Match Official of the Year – Bruce Wood (NSW)

Community Coach of the Year – Jaccob Rodda (VIC)

Club of the Year –Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club (WA)

Young Community Leader – Danielle Chivers (NSW)

Women and Girls Initiative of the Year – Holland Park Cricket Club (QLD)

Technology and Media Initiative of the Year – Southern Cricket Association (TAS)

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year –Multicultural Communities of Australia (SA)

Cricket in Schools –Catholic Secondary Schools Sports Association (QLD)

Indoor Facility of the Year –Wildcatz Indoor Sports - Townsville (QLD)

Community Partnership of the Year –Bassendean Junior Cricket Club & Brightwater Oats Steet (WA)

Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year –Fitzroy Cricket Club (SA)

Association of the Year – Young District Cricket Association (NSW)