Evergreen World Cup winner Rachael Haynes and Blues and Australian all-rounder Sean Abbott have taken out the major prizes at the annual Cricket NSW awards at Doltone House in Sydney tonight.

Alongside this year’s awards, Brian Taber, a veteran of 16 Tests and 129 First Class matches, was announced as the 43rd member of the Cricket NSW Hall of Fame.

Haynes claimed the prestigious Belinda Clark Medal, presented to the NSW player awarded the most votes across the WNCL and WBBL Tournaments by their peers, coaches and match officials, while Abbott took home the Steve Waugh Medal for the most votes accumulated across Marsh One-Day Cup and Marsh Sheffield Shield competitions.

It is the third time Abbott has been awarded the Steve Waugh Medal – the first player in history to claim the state’s top men’s individual honour three times. He also won in 2013/14 and 2018/19.

Haynes also won the WNCL Player of the Tournament in a season where she led the Sydney Thunder to the WBBL|06 title. It is her first Belinda Clark Medal.

Of the other major awards, English trio Heather Knight (Alex Blackwell Medal for Thunder’s WBBL Player of the Tournament), Alex Hales (Mike Hussey Medal for Thunder’s BBL Player of the Tournament) and James Vince (Sixers’ BBL Player of the Tournament) all won silverware for their stunning efforts throughout their respective tournaments. Alyssa Healy won the Sixers’ WBBL Player of the Tournament.


Vince was part of the triumphant Sixers side that claimed a second consecutive BBL title in the tenth edition of the country’s premier domestic white ball tournament, delivering Player of the Match performances in both the semi final and final.

Veteran opener David Warner won the Player of the One-Day Cup Tournament and was also recognised as the One Day Cup Player of the Year in Cricket Australia’s State Cricket Awards, while Test teammate Nathan Lyon was the Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament.

Hannah Darlington, who this summer became NSW’s youngest ever captain at just 19 years and 31 days, was recognised as Cricket Australia’s Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year.

Darlington’s Thunder and Breakers teammate Anika Learoyd was named Country Player of the Year (Alex Blackwell Medal), while Newcastle’s Nick Foster (Josh Hazlewood Medal) won the corresponding men’s award.