Cricket network logo
Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo

Playing Cricket

Girls and Women's Cricket

There are many ways for girls and women of all ages and skill levels to get involved in Cricket in NSW

Junior Blasters

This is the entry level skills programs for girls and boys aged 5-7.

Hosted by cricket clubs throughout NSW, it’s a great way to learn the fundamental skills of cricket. Participants get a starter kit of equipment plus a shirt too!

Also look out for holiday programs in your local area.

Find your local Junior Blasters Centre at



Girls Only Master Blasters Centres

Master Blasters is a great way to learn to play the game of cricket.

Participants learn all the skills of playing in a fun, active way that includes music and dancing!

For girls aged 7-10 years, look out for Girls only programs.

Also look out for 4-week pop-up programs and holiday programs in your local area.

Find your local Master Blasters Centre at



Girls Only Junior Cricket

These are club-based girls only leagues played locally for girls aged 10-17.

Clubs across NSW and the ACT compete locally against each other in a T20 game that lasts approximately 2 and a half hours. 

Some competitions are called Sixers Girls Leagues or Thunder Girls Leagues to align with Cricket NSW Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) teams.

Find your local club at



Cricket NSW Youth Championships

If you love the game and find out you’re pretty good at it, your Local Cricket Association may well enter a team into the Cricket NSW Youth Championships. This is our representative cricket pathway.

There are two age groups and competitions for girls; the Mollie Dive Shield for girls aged U13 and the Margaret Peden Shield for those U15.

Talk to your local club about being considered for representative cricket.

For more information:



Sydney Women’s Premier Cricket

This is the Women’s Premier Grade competition across Sydney. It offers competitive T20 and One Day matches for players in First to Third Grades as well as Under 18 Brewer Shield.

A few of these players compete for the Sixers WBBL and Thunder WBBL teams!

For more information:



Women’s Big Bash League 

Cricket NSW have two highly successful WBBL teams – the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Follow them here and come to watch them play during the summer months.

Sydney Sixers:

Sydney Thunder:



NSW Breakers

The all-conquering NSW Breakers are our women’s NSW State team. They take part in one day (50 over) matches against the other state and territories.

Follow the State’s elite women players at



If you have questions or would like to know more about any of these programs or competitions, please contact your local Cricket Manager who will be happy to provide assistance and support.

Find your local Cricket Manager at