Cricket network logo
Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo

Senior Men

McDonald's NSW Premier Cricket

A breeding ground for future NSW and Australian representatives, McDonald's NSW Premier Cricket competition is regarded as the strongest in Australia.

Hero Image

Click here to download and view the NSW Premier Cricket Statistics Annual 2020-21.

The Belvidere Cup

For over 125 years, Sydney's Men's First Grade clubs have been competing for the prestigious Belvidere Cup. 

Now known as NSW Premier Cricket, the First Grade competition is a true testing ground for future NSW and Australian representatives, from Victor Trumper, Don Bradman, Bill O’Reilly and Richie Benaud through to Steve and Mark Waugh, Glenn McGrath, Michael Clarke, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Josh Hazlewood and Steve Smith. 

There are 20 clubs in the McDonald's NSW Premier Cricket competition with each competing in First Grade through to Fifth Grade, as well as the Poidevin-Gray Shield (U/21) and AW Green Shield (U/16).  

The preliminary rounds for this competition consist of Two-Day and One-Day matches. The Qualifying and Semi Finals are played as Two-Day matches, with the Grand Final played over three days.

The current holders of the Belvidere Cup are the Sydney Cricket Club.

Click here to find out more about the Belvidere Cup, including scores and contact details.

The First Grade Limited-Overs Cup

First Grade also plays for the First Grade Limited Overs Cup, which consists of five rounds plus Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and a Grand Final. 

The 2020/21 champions were the Randwick Petersham Cricket Club.

Click here to find out more about the First Grade Limited Overs Cup, including scores and contact details.

The Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup

The Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup is contested by the 20 Sydney NSW Premier Cricket clubs. 

This competition is also used by the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder to identify talent for their BBL and Supplementary squads. 

Teams are divided into a Sixers Conference and a Thunder Conference. Each team plays six preliminary round matches with the top four teams in each conference playing Semi Finals, followed by a Conference Final. 

The winner of the Sixers conference then plays the winner of the Thunder conference for the Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup. 

$18,000 in prize money is up for grabs courtesy of competition sponsor Kingsgrove Sports, with the Champions collecting $12,000, Runner-up $4,000 while the Conference Runners-up will take home $1,000 each. There is a big incentive on offer again this season with the winner of each Conference Final earning an invitation to represent NSW Premier Cricket at the Fox Cricket National Premier T20 Championships held in Adelaide from 3-5 March. The NPT20 Championships will bring together the best Premier clubs from around the country.

This competition has First Grade status and points gained count towards the Club Championship.

Click here to find out more about Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup including scores and details.

The O'Reilly Medal

The Men's First Grade Player of the Year is named in honour of the late, great NSW, Australian leg-spinner and prominent journalist Bill O'Reilly. Winners include former NSW and Australia great Bob Simpson, who claimed the first O'Reilly Medal in 1968 and again in 1973, as well some of the Blues finest servants like Greg Mail, Dominic Thornely, Trent Copeland, Grant Lambert and Gavin Robertson. 

The medal was tied in 2020/21 shared between UTS North Sydney batsman Tom Jagot and St George allrounder Nick Stapleton.

The O’Reilly Medal is decided by umpire votes from each match during the season on a 3-2-1 basis.



AJ Mosca (Sydney); 1,027 runs;

Tom Jagot (UTS North Sydney); 1,000 runs (Co-Captain);

Tym Crawford (Gordon); 808 runs;

Jay Lenton (Manly-Warringah); 764 runs;

Josh Clarke (Western Suburbs); 763 runs;


Nic Stapleton (St George); 688 runs & 33 wickets (Co-Captain);


Tim Cummins (Sydney University); 38 dismissals and 535 runs;


Nic Bills (Sydney); 46 wickets;

Luke Shelton (Mosman); 41 wickets;

Ben Joy (Sydney University); 38 wickets;

Jackson Saggers (Gordon); 38 wickets;

Ben Taylor (Bankstown); 38 wickets.

2020/21 Men’s Premier Cricket Awards

Premierships -

Club Championship: Northern District CC

First Grade (Belvidere Cup): Sydney  CC

Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup: Bankstown CC

First Grade Limited-Overs: Randwick-Petersham CC

Second Grade (Albert Cup): Manly-Warringah CC

Third Grade (Mitchell Cup): Northern District CC

Fourth Grade (Reid Cup): Sutherland CC

Fifth Grade (David Sherwood Cup): Northern District CC

Under 21 Poidevin-Gray Shield: Gordon CC & Parramatta CC (Joint Premiers)

Under 16 AW Green Shield: Northern District CC

Men’s Individual Awards:

Bob Simpson Award – Men’s Coach of the Year: Brendan Lyon (Northern District)

Ground of the Year 1st Place: Pratten Park (Western Suburbs)

Ground of the Year Runner-Up: Rosedale Oval (Fairfield-Liverpool)

Ground of the Year 3rd Place: Drummoyne Oval (Sydney)

Lower Grades Ground of the Year: Tunks Park (UTS North Sydney)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Northern District CC

1st Grade Captain of the Year: Ben Davis (Northern District)

2nd Grade Captain of the Year: Andrew Jamieson (Manly-Warringah)

3rd Grade Captain of the Year: Clayton Waters (Northern District)

4th Grade Captain of the Year: Stephen Wark (St George)

5th Grade Captain of the Year: Pat Murton (Northern District)