Cricket network logo
Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo Team Logo

Basil Sellers Scholarship Program

The Basil Sellers Scholarship Program is made possible by the generosity of philanthropist and former NSW Cricket Director, Basil Sellers.

The Basil Sellers Scholarship program welcomed 11 promising young cricketers in 2020/21 continuing a rich tradition of finding elite cricketing talent in New South Wales.

Thanks to the continuing magnanimous support and philanthropy of former Cricket NSW Director, Basil Sellers AM, the program enters its 15th year this season.

Eleven of the best young cricketers in NSW were inducted this season, five female and six male, including eight first-time scholars.

The scholarship is awarded to promising male and female cricketers from across the state, aged between 16 and 19.

This cohort of scholars took the total number inducted since 2006/07 to 133.

Eighteen male and female cricketers have gone on to represent Australia in the Test, One-Day or T20 arenas.

The program supports scholars and their families with education, training, employment and social skills, particularly those rural and regional cricketers who may need to adjust to a city lifestyle.

2020/21 Basil Sellers Scholarship Holders

Jade Allen*


ACT/Southern Districts

Alisha Bates


Central Coast

Jessica Davidson

Fast bowler

Central Northern

Angelina Genford



Toby Gray



Caelan Maladay

Fast bowler

North Coastal

Kate Peterson



Nivethan Radhakrishnan



Yuvraj Sharma*



Brad Simpson*

Fast bowler


Hunar Verma

Fast bowler


*Second Basil Sellers Scholarship  

Through the ongoing and generous support of Kookaburra Sport, each scholar is offered a two-year cricket equipment sponsorship.

Cricket NSW CEO Lee Germon 

The 18 scholars to have represented Australia at the highest levels include:

  • Sean Abbott
  • Nicola Carey
  • Lauren Cheatle
  • Patrick Cummins
  • Ashleigh Gardner
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Alyssa Healy
  • Phillip Hughes
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Nic Maddinson
  • Erin Osborne
  • Kurtis Patterson
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Gurinder Sandhu
  • Steven Smith
  • Naomi Stalenberg
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Adam Zampa

Other graduates of the program include former England Test opening batsman, Sam Robson, South Australian batsman Tom Cooper and former Blues paceman Timm Van der Gugten, who both represented the Netherlands at International level.

What It Means to be a Basil Sellers Scholar - Caelan Maladay


What It Means to be a Basil Sellers Scholar - Kate Peterson


What It Means to be a Basil Sellers Scholar - Yuvraj Sharma