Four teams of the best emerging talent from NSW have been named for the upcoming NSW U/19 State Challenge.

The four teams – two from Metropolitan NSW and two from ACT/Country NSW – will play each other in three 50-over matches.

The State Challenge will serve as a selection trial for the upcoming U/19 National Championships.

The Metropolitan Sixers and Thunder teams will be vying for selection in the U/19 NSW Metropolitan team which will defend the title at this year’s National Championships, while the Sixers and Thunder Country teams will be out to gain selection in the U/19 ACT/NSW Country team.

The NSW U/19 State Challenge will run from October 4-6 at Bensons Lane, Hawkesbury.

After seeing the country teams in action in the Country Colts recently, Southern NSW Pathway Coach Greg McLay is expecting a high standard of cricket, despite it being so early in the season.

"It’s a tricky one for the players, they haven’t played a lot of cricket but the standard was very good at the Country Colts," said McLay

"We’re confident that the squads we’ve selected for the State Challenge will perform well and will provide a stern test for the metro teams.”

The three-day competition will give the state’s up-and-coming talent a good chance to challenge themselves against their peers.

"We have players that have essentially played Futures League-level cricket, a rung below Sheffield Shield," said McLay.

"We also have boys that are backing up from last year’s U/19 National Championships.

“It means the players are being exposed to cricket at the highest level and their development is being fast tracked as a consequence of that."


Metropolitan Sixers 

James Arnold (Sutherland)

Jaskaran Cheema (Hawkesbury)

Peter Francis (St George)

Jordan Gauci (Hawkesbury)

Varun George (Mosman)

Ryan Hackney (Penrith)

Ryan Hadley (Blacktown)

Devlin Malone (Sydney University)

James Robertson (Northern Districts)

Brendan Smith (Bankstown)

Owen Simonsen (Parramatta)

Raveesh Srivastava (Fairfield-Liverpool)

Christopher Thompsett (Sydney CC)

Coach – Dean Burke


Metropolitan Thunder 

Nicholas Arnold (Sydney University)

Axel Cahlin (Gordon)

Luke Courtney (Hawkesbury)

George Furrer (Northern District)

Daniel Hayes (Western Suburbs)

David Lozinski (Bankstown)

Ryan Mizzi (Hawkesbury)

Lawrence Neil-Smith (Sydney University)

Jeremy Newton (Penrith)

Harry Ridgewell (Hawkesbury)

Param Uppal (Fairfield-Liverpool)

Vishal Vuppalapati (Fairfield-Liverpool)

Tim Ward (Parramatta)

Coach – Daniel Smith


Country Sixers 

Blake Macdonald (Southern/ACT)

Kurt Prosper (North Coast)

Charlie Dummer (Southern/ACT)

Callan McKiernan (North Coast)

Ryan Van Kemanade (Newcastle)

Tom Vane Tempest (Southern/ACT)

Tom Engelbrecht (Southern/ACT)

Ryan Peacock (Western)

Luke Docherty (Riverina)

Joe Slater (Southern/ACT)

Tom Scoble (Central North)

Glenn Winsor (Newcastle)

Jason Ralston (Illawarra)

Coach – Robbie Jackson (Riverina)



Country Thunder

Cooper Garoni Riverina)

Jack Shelley (Central Coast)

Alec Baldwin (North Coast)

Jarrod Colliss (Illawarra)

Daniel Leerdham (Southern/ACT)

Lewin Maladay (North Coast)

Ryan Meppem (Central North)

Ben Taylor (Southern/ACT)

Ryan O’Beirne (Central Coast)

Aaron Bills (Newcastle)

Pat Magann (Central North)

Andrew Somerville (Newcastle)

Sam Skelly (Southern/ACT)

Coach – Glenn Rowlands (Central Coast)