Three members of the NSW Blues squad have today been announced in a 14-man Cricket Australia XI (CA XI) squad for next month’s Matador BBQs One-Day Cup.


Arjun Nair, Ryan Gibson and Liam Hatcher are all in the squad that comprises a group of talented young players, selected by the Youth Selection Panel in conjunction with State Talent Managers, with an eye to ensuring their pathway within cricket in Australia.


Nair has had a rapid rise through the pathway, being selected to make his Sheffield Shield debut for NSW after impressing selectors during the U/19 National Championships.


The 17 year old all-rounder wrecked havoc with the white ball during the Final of last year’s National Championships, taking 6-24 and hitting 41, earning him Player of the Match honours.


Hatcher will represent the CA XI for the second season straight, and earned himself a NSW Blues rookie contract after his performances in last year’s competition.


Ryan Gibson was named in the original Blues squad for last year’s Matador BBQ’s One Day Cup before the state’s Australian returned for the competition.


The young squad will have plenty of experience on the coaching front, with former Australia batsman Brad Hodge appointed as Coach and Bupa National Cricket Centre Head Coach Troy Cooley Assistant Coach respectively.


CA’s National Talent Manager Greg Chappell said:


“This is a great opportunity for these emerging players to test their skills and develop their cricket by competing at domestic level,” Chappell said.


“The squad contains a number of players who have already played domestic cricket. Hopefully this opportunity will allow these players to push for further selection within states or at the national level.”


Last year was the first time the CA XI took part in the Matador BBQs Cup, winning one of six matches.


Ten players from the originally-selected CA XI squad had played Sheffield Shield and/or Big Bash League by the end of the 2015/16 season.


“It’s been really pleasing to see the development of players from last year’s CA XI,” Chappell said.


“Players in this year’s squad now have the opportunity to follow that same path, and we are confident this side will be competitive throughout the tournament.”


William Bosisto (C) WA

Matthew Short (VC) VIC

James Bazley QLD

Jake Carder WA

Ryan Gibson NSW

David Grant SA

Sam Grimwade VIC

Sam Harper VIC

Liam Hatcher NSW

Josh Inglis WA

Ryan Lees TAS

Arjun Nair NSW

Thomas O’Donnell VIC

Jhye Richardson WA


Coach: Brad Hodge

Assistant Coach: Troy Cooley