Gordon teammates, all-rounder Elliot Richtor and leg-spinner Mason Crane, have won the O’Reilly Medal as the Joint Player of the Year in the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket First Grade competition.

The O’Reilly Medal was presented on Friday evening at the Premier Cricket Dinner at the Dockside Function Centre in Sydney. The Kingsgrove Sports Merit XII, or First Grade Team of the Year, was also announced at this function.

The O’Reilly Medal is named in honour of former NSW and Australian leg-spinner, and journalist, Bill O’Reilly. The award is judged by umpires who award points on a 3-2-1 basis at the end of each match.

Richtor and Crane shared the O’Reilly Medal with 18 votes each.

All-rounder Elliot Richtor scored 787 runs at an average of 37.48 and took 22 wickets at an average of 17.82. He claimed Player of the Match honours on four occasions.

Young English leg-spinner Mason Crane enjoyed an outstanding season with 51 wickets at an average of 21.06 with best figures of 7-53 against Sydney. Crane was also named Player of the Match on four occasions.

Northern District’s Andrew Harriott and Sydney University’s Nick Larkin finished equal third in the O’Reilly Medal count, with both earning 14 votes.

As the O’Reilly Medallists, Richtor and Crane were named co-captains of the Kingsgrove Sports Merit XII.

The Kingsgrove Sports Merit XII features the top six batsmen in the McDonald’s First Grade competition, the leading wicketkeeper and the top four bowlers, with the O’Reilly Medallist as the captain. Selection is based on statistics from the preliminary rounds only.

The players selected in 2016/17 Kingsgrove Sports Merit XII are (clubs and statistics in brackets):


Elliot Richtor (Gordon – 727 runs & 19 wickets);

Mason Crane (Gordon – 51 wickets)


Andrew Harriott (Northern District – 1,017 runs)

Josh Clarke (Hawkesbury 1,016 runs)

Nick Larkin (Sydney University – 954 runs)

Nathan Price (Randwick Petersham - 911 runs)

Anthony Sams (Randwick Petersham – 888 runs)


Nick Bertus (Parramatta – 36 dismissals & 863 runs).


Nick Bills (Sydney – 46 wickets)

Daniel Sams (Randwick Petersham – 44 wickets)

Ben Martin (Parramatta – 41 wickets)

Jarrad Burke (Bankstown) – 40 wickets)

Each member of the Merit XII was presented a commemorative cap courtesy of Kingsgrove Sports.

In other awards, Northern District’s Chris Green and Sydney University’s Nick Larkin were the joint winners of the First Grade Captain of the Year award, while Blacktown’s Joe McAleer Reserve was named Ground of the Year. Sydney University won the Spirit of Cricket Award for the fifth consecutive season.

Gordon’s Head Coach Trevor Chappell won the Bob Simpson Award as the Coach of the Year. His club improved from tenth to fourth in the Club Championship with all grades except third grade featuring in the end of season Finals Series.

Award winners

O’Reilly Medal for the First Grade Player of the Year

Elliot Richtor (Gordon) and Mason Crane (Gordon)

Captain of the Year

First Grade: Chris Green (Northern District) and Nick Larkin (Sydney University)

Second Grade: Daniel Jacob (Sydney)

Third Grade: Rodney Krause (St George)

Fourth Grade: Alasdair Grant (Sydney University)

Fifth Grade: Matthew Grealy (St George)

Coach of the Year – the Bob Simpson Award

Trevor Chappell (Gordon)

Ground of the Year

First Grade: Joe McAleer Reserve (Blacktown)

Lower Grades: Merrylands Oval (Parramatta)

Spirit of Cricket

Sydney University

Benaud Medal for Player of the First Grade Grand Final

Ryan Carters (Sydney University)

Shane Lee Medal for Player of the Poidevin Gray Shield Grand Final (U/21)

Tim Ward (Parramatta)

Kevin Cunningham Medal for the Player of the AW Green Shield Final (U/16)

Thomas Ivers (Sydney)

Club Championship

Northern District


First Grade: Sydney University

First Grade Limited Overs: Penrith

Kingsgrove Sports T20 Cup: Northern District

Second Grade: Sydney

Third Grade: Northern District

Fourth Grade: Sydney

Fifth Grade: Randwick Petersham

Award Winners Gallery