NSW and Australian fast bowler Pat Cummins will begin his Ashes preparation when he returns for the Blues in their last regular season JLT One-Day Cup match, against Victoria at North Sydney Oval on Sunday.

His Australian pace partner Mitchell Starc is due to return for the Blues' next match on Friday, against Queensland at Drummoyne Oval after being rested from the previous game against a Cricket Australia XI.

Friday at Drummoyne Oval and Sunday at North Sydney Oval are both day-night matches starting at 2.30pm.

Cummins, 24, made a successful return to Test cricket in March when he replaced the injured Starc for the final two Tests of the series in India.

Frustrated by injuries in recent years, the dynamic paceman has had a busy off-season, playing the Champions Trophy One-Day tournament in England during June then a two-Test series in Bangladesh before a one-day series in India.

As part of his Ashes preparation Cummins was rested from the current Twenty20 leg of the India tour and the early part of the JLT One-Day Cup but has been training with NSW.

Chasing a third successive domestic One-Day title, the Blues are currently second on a very tight JLT One-Day Cup table and must win at least one of their remaining two matches, against Queensland on Friday, and Victoria on Sunday to qualify for the finals.

Unbeaten Western Australia are clear at the top of the table so NSW must finish second or third to qualify for the elimination final and win to play WA in the final. Both finals will be played in Hobart next week.

NSW Blues JLT One-Day Cup schedule

Friday 29 September v Western Australia – WACA – NSW lost by 9 runs

Monday 2 October v Tasmania – WACA – NSW won by 102 runs

Friday 6 October v South Australia – Hurstville Oval – NSW lost by 45 runs

Sunday 8 October v Cricket Australia XI – Hurstville Oval – NSW won by 93 runs

Friday 13 October v Queensland – Drummoyne Oval (d/n)

Sunday 15 October v Victoria – North Sydney Oval (d/n)

Thursday 19 October – Elimination Final – Blundstone Arena – Hobart (d/n)

Saturday 21 October – Final – Blundstone Arena – Hobart (d/n)