New South Wales has the greatest number of promising young male players selected in Cricket Australia’s 2017 Pathways Rookie Squad.


The 17 NSW players are part of 53 in the third intake of the program, which aims to help identify and nurture Australia’s next generation of stars aged between 14 and 17.


The NSW Blues have already seen the benefits of the of the Pathways Rookie Squad program in Jason Sangha.


Sangha was a member of the inaugural batch of players to come through the Rookie Squad program who played for the Cricket Australia XI in last season’s Matador BBQs One-Day Cup.


Cricket Australia National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said that if the program can keep producing talents like Sangha the future of the game looks bright.


“The first two years of this program have been a success,” Chappell said.


“We have seen Cameron Green go on to play in the Sheffield Shield for Western Australia, Xavier Bartlett and Jason Sangha both represent the Cricket Australia XI at Domestic One-Day Cup level, and several other players win state contracts or represent Australia Under 19s.


“The future is bright for Australian cricket, and we are confident that this year’s squad also contains players destined for bigger and better things in the years to come.”


2017 Pathways Rookie Squad


New South Wales:

Tyson Lee (Mosman)

Oliver Davies (Manly Warringah)

Liam Scott (Sydney)

Lachlan Hearne (Mosman)

Liam Marshall (Campbelltown-Camden)

Lawson Eva (Tahmoor)

Mac Jenkins (Randwick Petersham)

Sam Fanning (Northern Districts)

Harry Menenti (Sydney)

Jacob Workman (Parramatta)

Brock Larance (Dubbo CYMS)

Toby Gray (Belmont)

Bradley Simpson (Bankstown)

Ajay Singh (Northern Districts)

Hugh Sherriff (Sydney)

Dominic O’Shannessy (East Bowral Blues)

Tanveer Sangha (Campbelltown Camden)