The NSW Country team has taken out the 2011/12 Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships in Geelong, winning six of their seven matches during the tournament.

NSW Country finished the competition in style yesterday (January 12) with a 74 run victory over East Asia Pacific. Batting first, they made 6-258 from their 50 overs with Simon Moore top scoring with 81 not out. Pat Darwen also made 50 while Pat Rosser smashed 60 from 30 balls!

In reply, East Asia Pacific was bowled out for 184 in 44 overs, with Tim Cox and Kaine Harmsworth taking three wickets each and Pat Rosser and Declan Hoare claiming two apiece.

NSW Country finished the tournament on 32 points, 11 points clear of second placed ACT with Queensland Country taking third.

Graeme Batty was named Player of the Series with fast bowler, Andrew Maher, the only NSW Country player named in the team of the tournament.

Several NSW players, however, were named in the team to play the Australian Cricketers Association Masters team in a T20 match. They were Tom Groth, Kaine Harmsworth, Andrew Maher and Graeme Batty.

This is the 10th time NSW Country as won the Australian Country Championships, with their other titles coming in 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1996, 2001 and 2008.