NSW’s best players will head to regional NSW next week, as part of the NSW Country Blitz.

The annual program sees players from the NSW Blues and Breakers as well as Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder players travel throughout the state, visiting schools and community groups.

The Blitz is part of Cricket NSW’s ongoing support of the sport in regional NSW and the ACT, and aims to increase participation at a grassroots level.

During the three day Blitz players will attend MILO T20 Blast clinics, with the format one of the earliest steps in the Cricket Australia pathway by providing a link from MILO in2CRICKET to junior cricket as a fun, safe and affordable way to begin playing cricket.

The Country Blitz begins what will be a big summer for Cricket NSW in the state’s regional towns and cities.

Continuing NSW’s commitment of taking matches to country areas, the Blues will play a Sheffield Shield match in Wollongong this season.

The Thunder is also taking matches to regional NSW with the club’s BBL and WBBL teams to play the Melbourne Stars in Albury in December’s Border Bash.

As well as the Border Bash, the reigning Big Bash and Women’s Big Bash champions will also be hosting the Camp Thunder School Holiday camps in Albury, Wagga Wagga, Orange, Dubbo and Canberra.

The Sixers will be heading North during the summer with the newly-launched Beach Blast which will visit Shelly Beach, Newcastle, Mollymook, Kiama, Wollongong, Forster, Port Macquarie and Coffs Harbour.

The Sixers will also host school holiday camps in Erina, Singleton, Shellharbour, Gunnedah and Armidale.

This year’s Blitz comes on the back of news that NSW/ACT has the highest cricket participation rate of any state in Australia for the 2015/16 season, with more than 390,000 people playing the sport.

Cricket NSW Country Blitz


Liam Hatcher

Trent Copeland

ACT South and South Coast

Ben Rohrer

Josh Lalor

Central West

Stef Daffara

Daniel Hughes

ACT North and Districts

Pat Cummins

Jay Lenton


Chris Green

Ryan Gibson

Far West

Will Somerville

Gurinder Sandhu

Central Coast

Harry Conway

Jonte Pattison

Northern Inland

Stephen O'Keefe


Hunter/ Newcastle

Doug Bollinger

Mickey Edwards

Mid North Coast

Henry Thornton

Nick Larkin

North Coast

Ryan Carters

Ben Dwarshuis


Ed Cowan

Nic Maddinson