The NSW Blues have named a 13-man squad that includes five fast bowlers for the Sheffield Shield match against Western Australia in Perth that will decide which team plays Victoria in the Sheffield Shield final.

Pat Cummins will be missing from Blues line-up which had a comprehensive eight-wicket win over South Australia last week after his call-up to the Australian squad as an injury replacement for Mitchell Starc, while Hampshire leg-spinner Mason Crane has left Australia.

Fast bowlers Harry Conway and Gurinder Sandhu have been included in the squad along with Sean Abbott and Nick Larkin, who were 12th and 13th man for the South Australian game.

Victory in the match against Western Australia, beginning on Thursday at the WACA Ground, will assure the Blues qualify for the final.

Victoria is on top of the table with six wins while NSW, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia all have four wins but NSW has the most bonus points.

With Western Australia needing to win to have any hope of playing in the Shield final, Blues captain Moises Henriques believes the WACA Ground will provide a result wicket.

"The last game (win over SA) was very important for us because we knew if we were behind WA going over there, they might have prepared a slightly different wicket," Henriques said.

"So it's good to know that we're going to have a wicket that I think there will more than likely be a result (on).

"Knowing the way both teams play, both teams will be striving for a result as well."

Henriques is currently fourth on the Sheffield Shield run-scoring table with 659 runs at an average of 65.9 and a top score of 265.

Team mate Ed Cowan is the leading Shield run-scorer this season with 810 runs at an average of 73.64 and a highest score of 212.

Cowan and Blues wicket-keeper Peter Nevill (529 runs at 58.78) are the only players to score three Shield centuries this season.

The Blues squad is:

Moises Henriques ( Captain )
Sean Abbott
Doug Bollinger
Trent Copeland
Harry Conway
Ed Cowan
Daniel Hughes
Nick Larkin
Nic Maddinson
Peter Nevill
Kurtis Patterson
Wil Somerville
Gurinder Sandhu