NSW players will be facing off against each other for the first time in the Toyota Futures League following a revamped selection policy.

Blues country players will now join with the ACT, bringing the competition into line with the Under 17 and Under 19 National Championships, where NSW fields Metro and ACT/NSW Country teams.

NSW Metro will play ACT/NSW Country in a three-day match at Manuka Oval beginning on Monday.

Veteran seamer Trent Copeland, who is originally from Bathurst, will captain the newly formed ACT/Country team while off-spinner Will Somerville, the leading NSW wicket-taker last season, will take charge of the Metro team.

The new side has three NSW players who were originally from the country, Copeland, opening batsman Nick Larkin (North Coast), who is returning from a finger injury, and wicket-keeper Jay Lenton (Central Coast)

The Metro side also has three contracted Blues players, Somerville, spinner Arjun Nair and seamer Charlie Stobo, along with rookies wicket-keeper Jordan Gauci and seamer Liam Hatcher. Fast bowler Nic Bills has previously played for the Blues.


NSW Metro v ACT/NSW Country

October 16-19, 2017 – Manuka Oval

NSW Metro

Wil Somerville (c)

Nic Bertus

Nic BILLS           

Josh Clarke

Jordan Gauci

Liam Hatcher

Damien Mortimer

Arjun Nair

Luke Ohrynowsky

Daniel Sams

Daniel Solway

Charlie Stobo

ACT/NSW Country

Trent Copeland (c)

Henry Hunt

Nick Larkin

Jono Dean

Jay Lenton

Blake Macdonald

Andrew Harriott

Dean Solway

Ben Taylor

Nathan McAndrew

Shane Devoy

Harry Medhurst