New South Wales will have a wealth of international experience for its Matador BBQs One-Day Cup title defence next month.

The Blues have today named a 14-man squad for the tournament that features eight players who have represented Australia.

Cricket Australia contracted fast bowlers Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins will also be available at stages during the tournament.

Four of the squad, Moises Henriques, Peter Nevill, Steve O’Keefe and Nathan Lyon, have featured in the Australian Test Team during the last two months.

Seven of the NSW XI from the nine-wicket win in the Final of last year’s competition will be available for selection for the team’s first match, at Hurstville Oval on October 7.

The Blues have also injected some youth into the One Day squad, with young quicks Harry Conway and Ben Dwarshuis included and in the mix for a Matador Cup debut.

Conway took five wickets in his Sheffield Shield debut at the back end of the 2015/16 season, while Dwarshuis has impressed as a developing player with the Sydney Sixers for the past two Big Bash League seasons.

All-rounder Chris Green will have the opportunity to make his return to the Blues’ team after two years.

The off-spinner made his NSW debut in the 2014/15 Matador Cup before spending two seasons with the Sydney Thunder, and was an integral part of the BBL05-winning squad.

NSW coach Trent Johnston said the international players would be crucial to the Blues’ title defence.

“Our experience is very much in our batting and we will be relying heavily on those guys,” Johnston said.

“However our bowling has also stood up during past Matador Cup campaigns, with players like Doug Bollinger and Gurinder Sandhu performing well in the one-day format.

“And we have a good variety of spinners, with Nathan Lyon and Steve O’Keefe both internationals.

“We had an excellent state trial match on Monday with some good performances and the boys are raring to go.”

NSW Blues Matador Cup Squad

Moises Henriques (Captain)
Doug Bollinger
Ryan Carters
Harry Conway
Ed Cowan
Ben Dwarshuis
Chris Green
Daniel Hughes
Nathan Lyon
Nic Maddinson
Peter Nevill
Steve O’Keefe
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu


7 Oct v CA XI Hurstville Oval
9 Oct v Tas Hurstville Oval
12 Oct v SA Drummoyne Oval
14 Oct v Qld Drummoye Oval D/N
16 Oct v Vic North Sydney Oval D/N
19 Oct v WA North Sydney Oval
21 Oct Elimination Final (2 v 3) Drummoyne