Moises Henriques and Peter Nevill will each lead a team during this weekend’s NSW Blues State Challenge, having recently returned from Australia’s tour of Sri Lanka.

The Test-pair headline two impressive teams that will play off in the intra-state trial at Hurstville Oval on Sunday (September 18).

Four current or recent Test players will be in action, which serves as preparation for the upcoming Matador Cup.

The Blues will return to Hurstville Oval to start their title defence against the Cricket Australia XI on October 7.

NSW Blues coach Trent Johnston says it is good to have players the caliber of Henriques and Nevill available for selection so close to the first match of the Matador Cup.

“Just to know that they’re going to be around, and in the team is very good,” said Johnston.

“Moises had an outstanding Matador Cup last year and Nevvy probably didn’t get as much time with the bat as he would’ve wanted to, but that was because of the dominance of our top four or five.

“We’re extremely lucky to get him back with his knowledge behind the stumps, and his love of playing for NSW.”

This weekend’s State Challenge will give the Blues Head Coach an opportunity to cast an eye over his squad in a match scenario just weeks out from the tournament opener.

“The State Challenge is a good lead in to Matador Cup,” said Johnston.

“We had a fantastic trip to Maroochydore a few weeks ago where we played three games, had a couple of good days of training and we’ve also been doing centre wickets out at Blacktown

“I’m looking forward to watching the transfer of that preparation into a trial match with Blues against Blues.”

Blues State Challenge

Hurstville Oval

18 September 2016

Team Blue

Moises Henriques (Captain)

Ryan Carters

Ed Cowan

Ben Dwarshuis

Daniel Hughes

Jay Lenton

Arjun Nair

Gurinder Sandhu

Wil Somerville

Charlie Stobo

Henry Thornton

Mickey Edwards (12th Man)

Team Maroon

Peter Nevill (Captain)

Harry Conway

Trent Copeland

Ryan Gibson

Chris Green

Josh Lalor

Nick Larkin

Nathan McAndrew

Jonte Pattison

Ben Rohrer

Daniel Sams

Nathan Ellis (12th man)