NSW players have led the selections for the CA XI, with the squad for the National Under-17 Male Championships named today.


Oliver Davies, Lawson Eva, Tyson Lee and Liam Scott have all been named in the Cricket Australia squad for the National Championships, which begin later this month in Queensland.


The 13-player CA XI squad, selected based on performances at the 15-and-under National Championships in February this year, contains some of the best emerging talent in the country.


The squad contains players from New South Wales (four), Queensland (two), South Australia (one), Victoria (three) and Western Australia (three).


NSW Male Pathway Manager Gavan Twining will mentor the squad, travelling to Queensland as assistant coach.


Twining will work alongside Head Coach and former England all-rounder Dimitri Mascarenhas at the two-week tournament on the Sunshine Coast and in Brisbane from September 26 to October 6.


Last year’s inaugural CA XI squad saw the emergence of NSW players including Newcastle teenager Jason Sangha, who scored four half-centuries and has since earned a rookie contract with the NSW Blues and Sydney Thunder, and Austin Waugh – the son of former Test captain Steve Waugh – who averaged just under 50 with the bat during the tournament.


“This is a great opportunity for these highly-talented young players to challenge themselves against the best under-17 cricketers in the country,” Cricket Australia’s National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said.


“We believe this tournament will help fast-track the development of these players to enable them the best chance of becoming future elite cricketers.”


“Last year was the first time a CA XI competed in the under-17 championships. The side won four matches, reaching the semi-finals, and there were a number of outstanding individual performances which was really pleasing to see.


“Eleven members of last year’s CA XI will represent their state under-17 sides this year, and it is great to see such a strong transition through the Pathways program.”



CA XI Squad:



Damien Burrage


Jordan Clark


Oliver Davies


Lawson Eva


Mackenzie Harvey


Joshua Hoffman


Zane Keighran


Tyson Lee


Connor McFadyen


Liam Scott


Connor Smith


Connor Sully


Matthew Watt



Coach: Dimitri Mascarenhas

Assistant Coach: Gavan Twining