Australia’s proposed central contract list for next season has again been dominated by NSW players.

In all NSW makes up five of the 13 women and six of the 20 men who have been offered contracts.

The men, Australian captain Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon and Pat Cummins, have all been previously contracted.

Another three NSW products who moved interstate, Usman Khawaja, Jackson Bird and Adam Zampa, have also been offered contracts.

There is a broad mix of NSW women again headlined by Lendlease Breakers captain Alex Blackwell and vice-captain Ellyse Perry. Wicket-keeper Alyssa Healy and exciting young left arm swing bowler Lauren Cheatle have also been included while Rachael Haynes has regained her Southern Stars contract.  

The total amount of contracted women, including state players, will increase from 98 last season to an expected 111 this coming season.

Players have gained selection on the basis of their performances over the past 12 months.

The offers of contract, which are intended to begin on 1 July 2017, have been received by the following players:

CA Male Contract Offers for 2017-18

                                                State     Age

Ashton Agar                       WA         23

Jackson Bird                       TAS        30

Hilton Cartwright              WA         25

Pat Cummins                     NSW      23

Aaron Finch                        VIC        30

Peter Handscomb            VIC        25

Josh Hazlewood               NSW      26

Travis Head                         SA         23

Usman Khawaja                       QLD       30

Nathan Lyon                      NSW      29

Mitchell Marsh                  WA         25

Glenn Maxwell                 VIC        28

James Pattinson               VIC        26

Matthew Renshaw         QLD       21

Steve Smith                       NSW      27

Billy Stanlake                      QLD       22

Mitchell Starc                    NSW      27

Matthew Wade                           VIC        29

David Warner                    NSW      30

Adam Zampa                     SA         25


CA Female Contract Offers for 2017-18

                                `               State     Age       

Kristen Beams                   VIC        32          

Alex Blackwell                  NSW      33          

Nicole Bolton                     WA         28          

Lauren Cheatle                 NSW      18          

Rachael Haynes                       NSW      30          

Alyssa Healy                      NSW      27          

Jess Jonassen                    QLD       24          

Meg Lanning                      VIC        25          

Beth Mooney                    QLD       23          

Ellyse Perry                        NSW      26          

Megan Schutt                    SA         24          

Elyse Villani                         WA         27          

Amanda-Jade Wellington            SA         19          


Commenting on the men’s offers, National Selector Trevor Hohns said:

“We have selected 20 players for this year’s contract list with a focus on players who we believe could play a part in an exciting 12 months of cricket, which includes the Ashes and an important away Test Series against South Africa.

“Consideration has also been given to some players who we believe could potentially play in all three formats for Australia.”

Commenting on the women’s offers, National Selector Shawn Flegler said:

“The Australian women’s team has an incredibly exciting yet challenging 12 months ahead of them, with an imminent 50-over World Cup followed by an historic Ashes series beginning in October.

 “Having claimed more World Cup titles than any other country and won every major trophy, this side now has the chance to stake their claim as one of the most successful teams in Australian sporting history. That will continue to make cricket the sport of choice for women and girls all over the country.”

Contracts will be finalised once a new MOU between CA and the ACA is agreed. The new MOU is scheduled to be in place by 1 July.

 Further details regarding CA’s remuneration and benefits proposal to the ACA are available here: