Five NSW players were named in the Australian Under 16 squad after strong performances in School Sports Association Male 15 & Under National Championships in Brisbane.

In a carnival dictated by weather, NSW Green and NSW Magenta finished top of their respective groups. With rain preventing semi-final action, the two NSW sides went through to the final on Sunday.

NSW Green was victorious by 54 runs to complete a second victory in two seasons following NSW moving to two teams in the competition.

The best performed players in the carnival were chosen in the Cricket Australia Under 16 team to compete at next seasons Under 17 National Championships.

The 14 player squad features some of the best talent from the tournament, as selected by the Youth Selection Panel, plus four standby players.

 New South Wales is the best-represented state with five players, followed by South Australia (three), Queensland (two), Victoria (two) and Western Australia (two).

The five NSW players are Mac Jenkins, a left arm spinner who captained NSW Green to the title, leg-spinning all-rounder Tanveer Sangha, top order batsman Brock Larance, the tournament’s leading run score, fast bowler Brad Simpson and all-rounder Hugh Sherriff.

Australia Under 16 Squad

Kyle Brazell, South Australia

Jake Fraser McGurk, Victoria

Michael Herbst, Western Australia

Mac Jenkins, New South Wales

Brock Larance, New South Wales

Jet Liebke, Queensland

Ewan Nielson, Western Australia

Mitchell Pascoe, Queensland

Yash Pednekar, Victoria

Samuel Rahaley, South Australia

Suraj Rajesh, South Australia

Tanveer Sangha, New South Wales

Hugh Sherriff, New South Wales

Brad Simpson, New South Wales